The Boy Who Cried Wolf

I suppose I’ve done this too many times;
Ask anyone, they’d agree.
I suppose I’ve done this too many times,
Too many times, I feel.
To think I actually believe,
That it’s a wolf I actually see,
That it’s a wolf that’s in front of me,
Just like the one I’ve always pretended to see.
Like the time I called out,
And no one came,
Because no one believed.
And now neither do I,
Neither do I, I feel.
Now my stomach twists,
It jumps and squirms,
To tell me that it’s a wolf I see.
But now I know better,
I know better than to believe,
The things I believe I see.
I suppose I’ve done this too many times;
No, I don’t trust my eyes or my mind,
And I surely don’t trust anything I feel.

 

Picture Credit: http://www.timhancockart.co.uk/other/221879_the-boy-who-cried-wolf.html

Leave a Reply

