At an internet café

A girl shouts in a small room full of slow computers. She is video chatting with her mother. She is fairly young. Maybe a couple of years older than I am. And American. It’s not just her accent that gives her away.

“I’ve been tutoring a Tibetan who’s about my age, and you won’t believe the things he’s been through. He fled Tibet only two years ago.”

And then some details. Obviously exaggerated. Understandably so.

“I can’t imagine a country that deliberately takes away the rights of an entire people!”

I know she meant well, but I had to try really hard to stifle a laugh.

 

 

Comic source

Leave a Reply

