TV time

05.10.2012

We’re watching TV in Chuki’s living room. I’m wrapped up tightly in a blanket and my hands shake embarrassingly as I try to eat my dinner. Nat Geo is doing a show on Samoa, dubbed in Hindi.

The two Australian girls sitting next to me are watching intently, in the hope that the language will suddenly make itself clear to them. They ask me every few minutes to translate, and I try.

“They’re male crossdressers, and there’s a derogatory term for it in Samoan.” They nod.

Men dressed up as women are now ramp walking, and some of them are topless. And slightly large.

“Ew, that’s disgusting,” the girl sitting next to me says. You know how they say love is without borders? Apparently, prejudice is too.

Leave a Reply

